Tales From The Catacombs Vol​.​1


Tales From The Catacombs Vol​.​1

Опубликовано 23 Декабря 2014
dark ambient, drone

Tales From The Catacombs Vol​.​1 Первый сборник серии историй из катакомб. На сборник попали композиции от представителей темной андеграунд сцены. 

На сборник был отправлен трек «Black Wind», записанный с использованием виртуальных синтезаторов, полевых записей сделанных на Zoom H1 и free-royality библиотек семплов. 

Сборник опубликован греческим лейблом Black Death Industry ‎под номером  BDI 005.

Композиция «Black Wind» взята из альбома «The Brink of Time».

01. Backyard Ghost - First Signs Of Infection (06:20)
02. Sonologyst - Nephilim (06:40)
03. Gnomula Larvae - Diary (09:27)
04. Uruk-Hai - Ringwraiths (13:13)
05. Cadlag - Asbestopluma (07:10)
06. 0 - Demon (05:36)
07. Ruairi O'baoighill - Black Prayer (06:03)
08. Sound Awakener - Dark Ages (04:52)
09. A Bleeding Star - Lovecraftian Madness Dwell'd Deep Within The Halls Of Cumbria's Cavernous Mountains (06:51)
10. Oneirich - Nigrum Mortem (04:06)
11. Mean Flow - Empty Tired (04:39)
12. Phantasm Nocturnes - The Dance Macabre (03:40)
13. Dr.Noisem - Death Noise Field (03:20)
14. Actarus Aksam - Hiuli (06:42)
15. T.R.I.V.M. - Hopeless (04:04)
16. Ill - Bleak (11:22)
17. Schattenspiel - King Pest (04:08)
18. M.Nomized - The Ossuary (09:44)
19. Der Domestizierte Mensch - Die With A Smile (08:00)
20. Druhasmrt - Twilight Shines From Bones (07:19)
21. Midnightradio11 - Do They Know It's Ebola Time (04:41)
22. Shotgun Suicide Victim - The Program Approaches The Wired (04:28)
23. V M Project - Searching For Gods Existence In Quarks (05:57)
24. SiJ - Black Wind (04:50)
25. Northwind - Underworld (10:47)
26. Bonechurch - Upon Plague Winds (07:18)
27. Caveja - Sacred Flame Rituals (06:26)
28. Hedge Wizard - Huffing Petrichor (04:13)
29. Nix's Eyes - Crypts Of Torture And Death (04:11)
30. Hope Every Day - Funeral (05:53)
31. Meseonas - Transylvania (03:00)
32. Sardonic Zendik - Ohreule (03:21)
33. Steven Olaf - The Sinking Feeling (03:30)
34. Ashtoreth - Seance VIII Channeling Black Bone (06:06)
35. Balrog - Across The Misty Mountains Of Moria (04:21)
36. Unsung - Through The Sorrow (06:20)
37. Muldeponie - Awakening Of Dragons (04:40)




Комментариев: 1

Оставить комментарий

Honour and Darkness
Another staggeringly vast online compilation for your delight, this time courtesy of Greek label Black Death Industry. Their Bandcamp page details the fare on offer, which spans the gamut of ambient, black metal, dark ambient, doom, drone and ambient ritual genres. A little something for everyone, then!

Our principal interest comes fr om the inclusion at track 4 of Uruk Hai, and at track 16 of the recently resurrected project ILL.

Now ILL we crossed swords with recently with their song 'JOY', and a welcome return to the fold it was to see their name back in Hugin's active projects list. 'Bleak' - the offering here - is also available as a self-titled physical release in it's own right, so whilst you're very welcome to point your browser towards the Greek mainland and listen to this song for yourself courtesy of Black Death, Nazgul is going to hold fire and deal with it in a post of its own in due course.

So instead let us delve into the murky depths of 'Ringwraiths' from Uruk Hai, which has been floating around as a free clip on Facebook for a while now too. In terms of an actual physical release, however, only a couple of one-off bespoke copies have been floating around so far of this song, one of which is a special box-set version with a dedicated collector in Spain (you know who you are!) and the other (in a different format) lurks in Castle Nazgul. This is, therefore, the first 'proper' outing for this 13:13 long epic.

And it's not your typical Uruk Hai song, this one. After some subterranean sounding crashes and bangs, a choir of unhappy souls pipe up a dirge whilst sombre and melancholy musical misery abounds! None of your tinkling bells and shimmering cascades of keyboards for this outing, as noted in recently reviewed albums! And quite right too, as a gathering of Ring-Wraiths is a pretty grim affair, let Nazgul tell you from his personal experience. Well, you only need to revisit Tolkien's description from The Silmarillion to get the idea that getting the nine of us together is hardly likely to lead to an impromptu knees-up:

"Those who used the Nine Rings became mighty in their day, kings, sorcerers, and warriors of old. They obtained glory and great wealth, yet it turned to their undoing. They had, as it seemed, unending life, yet life became unendurable to them. They could walk, if they would, unseen by all eyes in this world beneath the sun, and they could see things in worlds invisible to mortal men; but too often they beheld only the phantoms and delusions of Sauron. And one by one, sooner or later, according to their native strength and to the good or evil of their wills in the beginning, they fell under the thraldom of the ring that they bore and of the domination of the One which was Sauron's. And they became forever invisible save to him that wore the Ruling Ring, and they entered into the realm of shadows. The Nazgûl were they, the Ringwraiths, the Úlairi, the Enemy's most terrible servants; darkness went with them, and they cried with the voices of death"

Truly a case of being as far away from 'Yo dude, wh ere's the kegger?!' as it would be possible to get!

The song continues with an augmentation of male choirs, some cavernous percussion and then deep blasphemous vocals vaguely reminiscent of those of Spanish black metal band Lugburg, sans lisp. Parping keyboards add a somewhat regal air, and in a nutshell there you have it.

Not necessarily the most easy to remember Uruk Hai song you'll have heard this year, nor one that's easy to hum along to after it's ended, but one possessing a power and darkness nevertheless that fits well with the content of this compilation and demonstrates the variety of music that Hugin is able to generate within this highly regarded project.

Despite all of this wondrous majesty and splendour, however, the real hidden treasure on this compilation is A Bleeding Star for the brilliant title of their contribution: 'Lovecraftian madness dwell'd deep within the halls of Cumbria's cavernous mountains'. Genius! Nazgul defies any song with such a title to suck, and indeed this track has an unwholesome atmosphere that's hard to beat. A Bleeding Star, it is written, is a dark-ambient-Gothic-experimental project created in 2008 wherein its creator - and I quote - "usually only works with his own gathering of ghosts, spectres, spirits & wraiths." Mad as a hatter, God bless him! Bring on a collaboration with WACH and world domination will surely follow....

Also of note is Balrog, at track 35, who may yet prove to be the very same band that have a split release with Uruk Hai in the works as I type.

Highly recommended, this compilation, and one to get your juices flowing over.

Оставить комментарий

  • Защита от автоматических сообщений